Ely New Year's Eve 10k Race A Great Success

Profile image for elypeople

By elypeople | Sunday, January 01, 2012, 11:26

In a close finish, Barnack athlete Matt Gunby won Ely's 2011 New Year's Eve 10k Race, successfully defending the title he won so convincingly 12 months earlier. Gunby, who also finished second in both 2007 and 2009, set his own personal best in the race to see off the challenge of Aaron Scott, finishing strongly in the home straight to claim the title for a second time.

The New Year's Eve 10k Race, organised by Ely Runners, is among the most popular fixtures in the local athletics calendar, pitting serious club runners against unattached local joggers.

Check Out The Pictures Of The Race

Picture Gallery 1 / Picture Gallery 2 / Picture Gallery 3 / Picture Gallery 4 / Picture Gallery 5 / Picture Gallery 6

With 700 runners lining up at the start, the race had been booked to capacity just five days after it opened for entrants. Those lucky enough to be accepted this year were sent into the fens to the sounds of a lone Scottish piper. Starting in Little Downham's Main Street, the race consisted of one loop of the nearby fen before re-entering the village from the other direction, with runners approaching the village again greeted by the sound of bagpipes.

When the first runners passed the Plough pub for the final stretch, it was 23-year-old Matt Gunby of Woodford Green AC and 24-year-old Stamford athlete Aaron Scott, the winner of this year's Grunty Fen half-marathon, who took on the last half mile as clear leaders. They raced neck and neck towards the finish but it was Gunby who had what was needed this time, out kicking Scott in the final 100 metres to win the race in a time of 30 minutes and 40 seconds. A triathlete, Gunby is one of just 25 athletes that the British Triathlon Federation are grooming for success in the next few years leading to the 2016 Olympics in Rio.

Gunby's girlfriend, Felicity Milton, was the first woman home, continuing a fine run of performances in the race. She clinched the women's title for the fourth time in five years, following victories in 2007, 2009 and 2010.

The results are below, but in the meantime take a look at some of our 220 pictures of the race at the above galleries...

All Men's Results

1 0:30:40 Matt Gunby Woodford Green [1]

2 0:30:42 Aaron Scott Notts AC [2]

3 0:32:30 Paul Miles ARU [3]

4 0:32:39 Steven Robinson Bedford & County AC [4]

5 0:33:01 John Herbert Nene Valley Harriers [5]

6 0:34:01 Tom Bracegirdle Muddy Mucky Munkeys [6]

All Women's Results

1 0:34:52 Felicity Milton WGEL [12th overall]

2 0:35:28 Claire Hallissey Bristol & West [17]

3 0:37:26 Lucy Gossage Cambridge Tri Club [28]

4 0:37:53 Eleanor Matthews CONAC [33]

5 0:38:34 Jane Clarke CONAC [43]

6 0:39:38 Ruth Jones Nene Valley Harriers [58]



max 4000 characters

Latest Stories in Ely


Local Jobs


Search for...

Min price is bigger than Max price
Min price is bigger than Max price
Min rent is bigger than Max rent